“My terms are a man’s right to exist for his own sake”

For most of us, there is some peice in one art form or the other that really impacts us and the way we comprehend things and grasp on to situations. I was sure of it that nothing really did it for me as much as music. But then, I was hit by this jolt of rude awakening. Since the last 15 days or so, I have been reading ‘The Fountainhead’.

Though I can’t really say how this book has affected me, but it most definitely has. I now understand it when some literature is referred to as ‘timeless’. After each read, I had to tell myself that this book was written way back in the 1930’s!

Since some music or the other is always playing in my head, I remember that the the song that played most oft as I read was, ‘Moonlight Sonatta – Beethoven‘. Go figure!

Personally, I would never say that this book has shown me how to live or anything of such sort. That would actually be going against the entire theme on which the book is based anyway. But yes, it has definitely sparked off a thought process in my mind which I know will eventually affect the decisions I make in my life. It has done to me what art is meant to do. Induce thoughts. Induce debates. Debates with other individuals. Debates with self.

“Anything may be betrayed, anyone may be forgiven. But not those who lack the courage of their own greatness.”

Oh, and by the way, Thank You.

2 thoughts on ““My terms are a man’s right to exist for his own sake”

  1. You finished reading the book.
    Yay!
    I am not so sure about Alvah Scarret. However, I have thought many times that Roark and Wynand should have been together. I don’t like Dominique very much, definitely less than Wynand.

    & You’re welcome 🙂

    • I know what you mean about Dominique. I don’t dislike the character but I am not a huge fan either. But I do love the way the character is etched out. And, she sounds quite hot! 🙂 Also, About Roark and Wynand, I love the way their chemistry is portrayed. In fact, I would go to the extent of saying that, they were so close that they were pretty much together barring the sex I guess. They did love each other 🙂

      Now, next is Johnathan Livingston Seagull! 😀

Leave a Reply

